The Faculty of Swords bard’s Blade Flourish function (XGtE, p. 15) says, partially:
Everytime you take the Assault motion in your flip, […] if a weapon
assault that you simply make as a part of this motion hits a creature, you may
use one of many following Blade Flourish choices of your alternative. […]
Every of the three following Blade Flourish choices say:
You possibly can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to trigger the weapon
to deal further harm to the goal you hit […] The harm equals the
quantity you roll on the Bardic Inspiration die.
Is the harm from the Swords bard’s Blade Flourish function doubled on a crit?
Every choice additionally has a singular secondary impact primarily based on the quantity you roll on the Bardic Inspiration die, however I am particularly enthusiastic about whether or not you roll twice the variety of harm cube on a important hit.
I have been having a small debate with one other participant, and so they have a small perception that it’s not. I used to be doing my very own analysis and every thing I noticed identified that it will be doubled on a crit, as a result of they’re rolled harm cube. Nonetheless, the opposite participant argues that it is extra harm – that you’re declaring it and rolling the Bardic Inspiration die for it previous to confirming whether or not you hit or not.
Based mostly alone analysis, this difficulty has been not often touched upon. Even on Sage Recommendation and the EN World boards, probably the most I’ve seen is individuals saying “the harm may be doubled however not the impact”, however it was solely a few posts.
I’ve at all times seen it as no totally different from a Battle Grasp fighter’s superiority die roll, or a Paladin’s Divine Smite. Each are results you declare you might be utilizing after you will have attacked the enemy, and are thus topic to the important hit rule, which doubles the variety of harm cube.
The counterargument is that the die (Blade Flourish) will not be tied to the harm roll; it is an addition that is utilized after you work the assault’s capacity to land.